Resolution 2016-01

Support of the Cardiac Arrest Registry to Enhance Survival (CARES)

Hereas the National Association of State Emergency Medical Service Officials (NASEMSO) recognizes that cardiac arrest is a significant public health threat to populations and that cardiac arrest data is a critical performance measure to improve survival;

Whereas the National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine (IOM), in its recent report, *Strategies to Improve Cardiac Arrest Survival: A Time to Act*, recommended that a national cardiac arrest registry be established;

Whereas the IOM directed the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to coordinate this cardiac arrest data collection, and that *CARES*, a virtually unchallenged consensus cardiac arrest registry, was sponsored by the CDC, and that *CARES* currently includes a standard set of data elements for cardiac arrest performance improvement; and

Whereas the IOM report called for continuous quality improvement programs which would use data from the cardiac arrest registry to measure and improve prehospital cardiac arrest care.

ow therefore be it resolved that the National Association of State EMS Officials supports the cardiac arrest data set established in CARES as the national standard minimum data set for states to incorporate into their respective cardiac arrest data sets; and

Be it further resolved that NASEMSO calls upon electronic patient care report vendors to incorporate the required and mandatory CARES prehospital data elements and export function as part of their basic standard prehospital electronic patient care reporting products to be activated at the choice of each state, and not as extra cost add-ons to basic standard products; and

Be it further resolved that NASEMSO calls upon CARES to assure that its dataset complies with the NEMSIS Version 3 standard and subsequent updates.

Submitted by Dr. Peter Taillac, Chair, Medical Directors Council and by Lindsey Narloch, Chair, Data Managers Council.

Signed this 22^{nd day} of September, 2016.

Paul Patrick 2014-2016 President Kyle Thornton 2014-2016 Secretary

Phyla L. Thorston

Intended Distribution:

- All vendors on NEMSIS accreditation list
- US Department of Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Office of EMS
- American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP)
- National Association of EMS Physicians (NAEMSP)
- Air Medical Physicians Association (AMPA)
- American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians (ACOEP)
- American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)
- American Academy of Emergency Medicine (AAEM)
- All other members of the Joint National EMS Leadership Forum